2021-2022 University Catalog 
    Jul 18, 2024  
2021-2022 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Seton Hill University is accredited nationally by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is a voluntary, non-governmental, membership association that defines, maintains, and promotes educational excellence across institutions with diverse missions, student populations, and resources. The Commission is dedicated to quality assurance and improvement through accreditation via peer evaluation. Middle States accreditation instills public confidence in institutional mission, goals, performance, and resources through its rigorous accreditation standards and their enforcement.

Discipline Accreditations Held by Seton Hill University Include:

  • Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC­-PA). The ARC-PA is the accrediting agency that protects the interests of the public and the Physician Assistant (PA) profession by defining the standards for PA education and evaluating PA educational programs within the territorial United States to ensure their compliance with those standards. The ARC-PA awards accreditation to programs through a peer review process that includes documentation and periodic site visit evaluation to substantiate compliance with the Accreditation Standards for Physician Assistant Education. The accreditation process is designed to encourage sound educational practices and innovation by programs and to stimulate continuous self-study and improvement.
  • Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND). The Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics is the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics’ accrediting agency for education programs that prepare students for careers as registered dietitians (RD) or dietetic technicians, registered (DTR). ACEND serves and protects students and the public by assuring the quality and continued improvement of nutrition and dietetics education programs.
  • Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA). Seton Hill University’s program in orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics is accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. The Commission is a specialized accrediting body recognized by the United States Department of Education. The Commission on Dental Accreditation can be contacted at (312) 440-4653 or at 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL, 60611. The Commission’s web address is: http://www.ada.org/prof/ed/programs/search_index.asp.
  • Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). CSWE is a non-profit national association representing over 3,ooo individual members as well as 158 graduate and undergraduate programs of professional social work education. Founded in 1952, this partnership of educational and professional institutions, social welfare agencies, and private citizens is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as the sole accrediting agency for social work education in the United States.
  • International Accreditation Council for Business Education (IACBE), undergraduate programs in accounting and business administration, MBA. International Accreditation Council for Business Education (IACBE) is the premier professional accreditor for business programs in student-centered colleges and universities throughout the world. The IACBE exists to promote, develop, and recognize excellence in business education.
  • National Academy of Early Childhood Programs (NAEYC). The Academy is a division of the National Association for the Education of Young Children, an organization that establishes guidelines for excellence in Early Childhood Programs. Membership in NAEYC does not automatically accredit a program. The accreditation process is voluntary. Accredited programs must meet and maintain stringent criteria in the areas of health and safety, staff and administration, curriculum, evaluation, and environment.
  • National Association of Schools of Music (NASM), Commission on Accreditation. The National Association of Schools of Music, founded in 1924, is an organization of schools, conservatories, colleges, and universities with over 600 accredited institutional members. It establishes national standards for undergraduate and graduate degrees in music and other credentials. Institutional Membership is gained only through the peer process of accreditation. Seton Hill’s music programs have been accredited since 1948.

Discipline Program Approvals Include:

American Art Therapy Association (AATA) (graduate program in art therapy). The AATA is an organization of professionals dedicated to the belief that the creative process involved in art making is healing and life enhancing. Its mission is to serve its members and the general public by providing standards of professional competence and developing and promoting knowledge in, and of, the field of art therapy.

American Music Therapy Association (music therapy program). AMTA’s purpose is the progressive development of the therapeutic use of music in rehabilitation, special education, and community settings. AMTA is committed to the advancement of education, training, professional standards, credentials, and research in support of the music therapy profession.

The Pennsylvania Department of Education (teacher certification programs). The Pennsylvania Department of Education authorizes Seton Hill University to conduct programs that lead to certificates for teachers. Seton Hill meets the following requirements: (1) is approved as a baccalaureate or graduate degree granting institution by the Department and (2) is evaluated and approved as a teacher preparing institution to offer specific programs leading to certification in accordance with procedures established by the Department.

Honor Societies

Alpha Lambda Delta Academic Honor Society

This is a national society that honors the academic excellence of freshman students. The mission of the ALD is to encourage superior academic achievement, to promote intelligent living and a high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals in society.

Alpha Sigma Lambda

Seton Hill University’s Gamma Upsilon chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society for adult students recognizes high achievement and promotes community involvement. For questions regarding invitation to this honor society, students should contact the Office of Graduate and Adult Studies.


Chi Alpha Sigma

Athletic/Academic Honor Society - Student-Athletes that have earned Junior status and completed 5 semesters while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and are members in good standing on their respective teams.  


Lambda Pi Eta

This communications honor society promotes and recognizes academic excellence, engages in professional development activities, and encourages students to be involved in the community.

Phi Alpha

The national social work honor society, Phi Alpha, recognizes academic achievement both overall and in social work, promotes bonds among students, provides opportunities for leadership, and offers scholarships to quialifying students.  The Seton Hill chapter is Upsilon Phi

Psi Chi

The psychology honor society is affiliated with the American Psychological Association and promotes the advancement of psychology to undergraduate students.

Sigma Tau Delta

This international English honor society confers distinction for academic achievement in English language, literature, and writing; provides cultural stimulation on college campuses and in surrounding communities; exhibits high standards of academic excellence; and serves society by fostering literacy.